The Bobcat Badge


Regardless of what age or grade a Cub Scout is in, the Bobcat badge must be earned before earning any other rank, except Lion. Lion Scouts earn the Lion rank first. When they complete kindergarten, they may begin work on the Bobcat badge. The Bobcat requirements focus on the fundamentals of Cub Scouting that every Cub Scout must know.

Bobcat Requirements:

1. Learn and say the Scout Oath, with help if needed.

2. Learn and say the Scout Law, with help if needed.

3. Show the Cub Scout sign. Tell what it means.

4. Show the Cub Scout handshake. Tell what it means.

5. Say the Cub Scout motto. Tell what it means.

6. Show the Cub Scout salute. Tell what it means.

7. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How

to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide. 

CLICK HERE for additional information on the Bobcat badge.