Earning Rank

Every month, Cub Scouts complete adventures as they work toward achieving each rank. The adventures are different for each rank, allowing Cub Scouts to learn new age-appropriate skills and explore new topics each year.


As they complete these adventures, they have the opportunity to earn both required and elective recognition devices as they work toward their ranks. Lion, Tiger, Wolf, and Bear Scouts earn adventure loops to be worn on their belt, and Webelos Scouts earn pins they can wear on their Webelos colors or Webelos cap.


1st-5th Grades

1st Grade

2nd Grade

3rd Grade

4th & 5th Grades


The highest rank in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light Award. Earning this rank prepares a Webelos Scout to enter Scouts BSA.

This award is the only Cub Scout badge that can be worn on the Scouts BSA uniform. Adult leaders who earned the Arrow of Light Award may also show their achievement by wearing a special square knot on their adult uniform.